Piano Solo Storytelling
Ticket Price
$420, $320, $220

ZUNI X POPTICKET Ultra Free Flow Up to 50% Off
*Please refer to GivTic
23-24.10.2020 (FRI-SAT) 8:15pm
Grand Theatre, Hong Kong Cultural Centre
5 stories of spirits. 5 episodes of unrequited love. Piano Solo Storytelling Spirits combines elements of piano solo, monologues, poems, light and shadow to re-enact the stories of spirits and love in classical music. 

Spirits is adapted from Before the Sunrise (2019) performed in Taiwan by Sylvia Chang - a renowned playwright/ director/ actress, Yen Chun-Chieh - a young pianist who won the Taiwan Golden Melody Award for Best Classical Performance, and Chiao Yuan-Pu - a classical music critic. In Hong Kong's theatre space, with a revised stage design by cross-disciplinary multimedia theatre creator Mathias Woo, while Chang as the narrator mesmerizes the audience with her theatrical voice in the Hong Kong Cultural Centre, Yen's piano performance will be live-streamed from Taiwan, revealing to the audience the desire and fervor for love and spirits embodied by the music.

As the audience listens to Liszt, Rachmaninoff, Saint-Saëns and Ravel, a dialogue between music and poetry opens before them. Be ready to experience a "literary and music programme about music and spirits".

Explore more
Chiao Yuan-Pu / Spirits Programme Notes

Sylvia Chang
"After performing '
Lenore', I am in love with sound performances in recital style." 
Yen Chun-Chieh
"Pop singer's concerts have glamorous stage effects;
piano concerts can also jump out-of-the-box to be presented in a spectacular way."

Chiao Yuan-Pu
"In fact, art is about interconnectivity.
If you consider music and literature as separate entities, you have missed the point." 

Mathias Woo
"I am always interested in non-narrative media, such as sounds and visuals, In 'Spirits', what we want to experiment is how to bring out poetic sentiments. Together with such a magical voice, music team, and the newly designed visuals, I look forward to the new and exciting sparks we create."

Felix Mendelssohn / Sergei Rachmaninoff: Scherzo, from A Midsummer Night’s Dream, incidental music, Op. 61
Maurice Ravel: Gaspard de la nuit, trois poèmes pour piano d’après Aloysius Bertrand
Charles Camille Saint-Saëns/ Franz Liszt/ Vladimir Horowitz: Danse Macabre, Op. 40 / S. 555
Franz Liszt: Tre sonetti del Petrarca from Années de pèlerinage-Deuxième année: Italie
Franz Liszt: Lenore
Production Team

Hong Kong
Producer: Doris Kan
Technical & Production Manager: Chow Chun-Yin
Sound Designer: Can. Ha
Lighting Designer: Mak Kwok-Fai
Illustrations: Lai Tat Tat Wing
Video Production: Wing Chan, Li Ming
Live Streaming Consultant: Ko Man-Kit

Hair Stylist: Ben Lee
Hair Assistant: Ceci Ng
Make-up Artist: Annie G. Chan
Make-up Assistant: Chong Yuen Yeun

Rehearsal Master: Charmaine Cheng
Deputy Stage Manager: Carmen Hung
Video Operator: Johnny Sze
Stage Manager: Satina Shum
Assistant Stage Manager: Chan On-Ki
Costume Assistant: Bonnie Chan
Stage Assistants: Kenneth Chan, Chim Man Lung, Suen Kwok Wah, Yau Chun Hin
Stage Interns: Chan Tin Yau, Chan Yuen Yee, Lee Hoi Yan, Leung Chun Wai

Live Streaming & Shooting Director: Jim Shum
Production & Stage Manager: Lin Kuan-Chun
Technical Director: Alexander Lee
Audio: Pao Min-Chie
Audio Assistant: Lu Mei-Chieh
Cameramen: Bo Xuan-Yuan, Liu Zong-Kuan, Ma Jia-Rui
Wardrobe: Guo Ting-Yi

Admin & Marketing

Hong Kong
Company Manager (Administration and Finance): Jacky Chan
Assistant Artistic Director: Cedric Chan
Senior Programme Manager: Bowie Chow
Public Relations Manager: Luka Wong
Programme Manager: Ho Yin-Hei
Assistant Programme Manager: Ricky Cheng
Programme and Art Administration Trainees: Megan Hung, Stephy Yeung

Graphic Design: Rachel Chak
Graphic Design Assistant: Coco Cheung
Promotional Video: Chan Chin Ho, Wing Chan
Photography (Styling): Kirk Cheung
English Poem Proofread: Mona Chu, Moyung Yuk-Lin
Translation (Promotion): Mona Chu
Translation (Programme Notes): Joyce Cheung, Edgar Hung



Taiwan Live Streaming, Venue & Piano Support


Venue Support


Academic Support

Technical Partner


The Artist Channel, Ms. Cherry Cheung, Ms. Lien Pei-Ju, Mr. Yon Fan

Terms and Conditions
Running time approximately 110 minutes with 15 minutes intermission
Performed in Mandarin with Chinese & English surtitles
Audience might be required to swap seats according to the newest pandemic prevention requirements
No latecomers will be admitted, until a suitable break in the performance.
Zuni Icosahedron reserves the right to add, withdraw or substitute artists and/ or vary advertised programmes and seating arrangements.