Theatre Technology + Innovation

Z Innovation Lab

Z Innovation Lab
Introduction

In 2019, the Z Innovation Lab will put on a reinterpretation of the lost Banyan performance Rotten Big Ass at the Hong Kong Cultural Centre. The “Professional Series” will be launched for stage technology practitioners and students, while the “Stage and Technology Workshop” and “HKCC-AR Time Travel at Hong Kong Cultural Centre” will be available to the public. The “Theatre and Architecture Talk” highlights innovative performance spaces and enhances the understanding towards the relationship between built spaces, technology and the theatre, setting the tone to discuss the development of the theatre as a whole.

 

Stage and Technology Workshop

9/11 12pm 4:30pm

Studio Theatre, Hong Kong Cultural Centre


As the disciplines of innovative technology and multimedia design continue to develop, these audio and visual tools and technologies are not only applied to the flat, two-dimensional space. The theatre offers the possibilities of a “live” environment, a space for carrying, exploring and integrating different creativity and technologies. Through the activity, the public would learn from the Z Innovation Lab about the possibilities of stage technology in different ways.

 

HKCC-AR Journey in Time
9-23/11 9am-11pm

Foyer, Hong Kong Cultural Centre


The Hong Kong Cultural Centre opened in 1989, where you stand now was previously the location of Kowloon Railway Station. From its establishment in 1910 to its demolition for the construction of the Cultural Centre in 1978, this railway station has witnessed the history of Hong Kong and has been filled with our recollections.  In 2019, to celebrate the Centre’s 30th anniversary, Zuni has adopted state-of-the-art technologies of Augmented Reality (AR) in conjunction with the Soundscape system to recreate the sound and scene of the former Kowloon Railway Station. The anniversary is also celebrated with the installation of a giant bamboo flower plaque (fa paai) hand-crafted traditionally in a modern design.

 

Rotten Big Ass prequel comics

Rotten Big Ass, is a song-story by Dou Wun, a gu si (blind songster) used Banyan tempo to present, is one of the recordings made by Professor Bell Yung for Dou Wun’s live performance in 1975. It sung in a first-person narrative, is about an elderly client nicknamed Rotten Big Ass who came to look for his prostitute Sui Choi.

This project curated by Mathias Woo and illustrated by Lai Tat Tat Wing. The protagonist in the prequel story takes audiences through the time and space of Rotten Big Ass. The comictist has looked up many historical pictures of the 30s Guangzhou and tried to present the readers the scenery of the streets in Guangzhou, the banks of the Pearl River and flower boats where prostitutes work.

 

Download [Zuni X HKCC AR] Mobile Apps for Augmented Reality

For iOS users, please click here

For Android users, please click here

 

Theatre and Architecture Talk Series
Quick Architecture: From Kindergarten to Puppet Theatre

Please be noted that the Theatre and Architecture Talk “Quick Architecture: From Kindergarten to Puppet Theatre” scheduled on Nov 23 (Sat) will be cancelled since the speaker cannot attend. Sorry for any inconvenience may cause. 

 

In recent years, many theatres with iconic architecture have opened in the region, which we celebrate but also question for their lengthy planning and costly construction at a time when different genres of live events are presented with innovative stage / entertainment technologies and arts performers are looking at other kind of spaces to meet their future needs. This year, tagging along with Architecture Is Art Festival – Beautiful Space, we invited Japanese architect, Takahashi Ippei to give a presentation of his works, from his awarded kindergarten to a newly designed ‘puppet theatre’, displaying new technologies and ideas, as well as traditional methods in building ‘quick architecture’.Present in Japanese with Cantonese translation.

 

Ippei Takahashi
Mr Takahashi founded “TAKAHASHI IPPEI OFFICE” in 2010, since then he carried out various successful projects: “Shichigahama Tohyama Nursery” in Tohoku which won the top prize for design proposal in 2013, “Casa O” in Tokyo (2014), “S City Block Master Planning” in Japan (2011-2016), “Restructuring Yokohama National University Campus” (2012-present) and “Apartment House in Tokyo” (2018). Recently won the design proposal of “Fuefuki Park” in Yamanashi (2018-2020), and some other projects in progress. He is also currently an assistant professor at Yokohama National University.

 

Profesional Series


This Professional Series is designed for stage technical professionals and college students in a related field. In the Real Location of Z Innovation Lab, our technical partners and designers will give workshops and talks with in-depth explanations of the design and application of technologies such as digital lighting, soundscape, multimedia server base system and mixed reality.

 

12-13 /11

All day

Basic Console Workshop

14-15/11

All day

Advanced Console Workshop *

Speaker: Declan Randall (ETC Training Program Coordinator)

20-21/11 All day Disguise Fundamental Training Workshop

Speaker: Yip Tik Cheung

22/11

10am-1pm

Soundscape #1: Why Soundscape helps in New Design

Speaker: Chan Chi Wai (Education & Application Support Director, d&b audiotechnik Greater China)

22/11

2-5pm

Soundscape #2: How to integrate Soundscape in Live System

Speaker: Allen Tin (Business Development Manager, d&b audiotechnik Greater China)

22/11 3-5pm

Theatre Future: Server Base Control System

23/11 2pm-4pm

AR/VR/MR – Now and the Future

Speaker: Frankie Pang (Director, Cordex Intelligence)

*For experienced user.

All day 10am-1pm; 2-5pm

Creative Team

Z Innovation Lab

Creator, Artistic Director & Spatial Design Mathias WOO

 

HKCC-AR Journey in Time

Direction and Visual Design Director

Mathias WOO

“Rotten Big Ass” Illustration LAI Tat Tat Wing

Sound Design Steve HUI (aka Nerve)

Excerpt from the recording of the Rotten Big Ass performed by Dou Wun

Augmented Reality Frankie PANG

Sound Advisor Can. HA

Production Manager CHOW Chun Yin, Carmen CHENG

Ticketing

Registration

Stage and Technology Workshop

9

12nn, 4:30pm

Studio Threatre, Hong Kong Cultural Centre

Professional Series

11-14, 18-21

Studio Threatre, Hong Kong Cultural Centre

Theatre and Architecture Talk Series – Quick Architecture: From Kindergarten to Puppet Theatre

23

4-6pm

Studio Threatre, Hong Kong Cultural Centre

Hong Kong should have taken this innovative programme to spearhead fresh creative ideas to the academia earlier.

Wallace Chang / Professor, Faculty of Architecture, the University of Hong Kong

Let artists, directors, choreographers to know these technologies, inspire the possibilities of creation.

Artsnews

Academic Partners

IVE_lock-up_4c

Technical Partners

CEST Logo
Mad_music_logo[1] [Converted]
logo_protec
logo
logo_power

劇場科技 + 創新

進念舞台創新實驗室

進念舞台創新實驗室
簡介

2019年「Z Innovation Lab 舞台創新實驗室」將繼續向大家展示舞台科技與劇場與建築空間的關係,探索劇場未來 ─ 運用劇場新技術演繹遺世板眼《爛大鼓》,開放讓公眾參加的「舞台與技術工作坊」及「HKCC-AR 文化中心時間旅程」,還有為舞台技術從業員及專科生而設的「專業應用系列」,以及展示創新表演場地設計的「劇場建築專題講座」。

 

舞台與技術工作坊

9/11 12pm, 4:30pm

香港文化中心劇場

 

科技和多媒體設計等領域不斷發展,這些視聽工具和科技,不單單應用在「平版」的維度,劇場就提供了一個「現場」的環境 (空間),去盛載、探索、結合各種創意和科技的可能。活動讓公眾進入「進念舞台創新實驗室」了解舞台的運作,認識舞台技術這門專業。公眾活動,需登記參加,每節長約45分鐘。

 

HKCC-AR 文化中心時間旅程 

9-23/11 9am-11pm

香港文化中心大堂

 

香港文化中心在1989年落成,現在你身處的文化中心,正是昔日九廣鐵路尖沙咀火車站的原址。這段鐵路,這個車站,從1910年通車直到1978年拆卸興建成為文化中心,見證了香港的過去,乘載了我們的記憶。2019年,為慶祝中心成立三十周年,進念在這個位置,使用擴增實境(AR),配合聲音景觀系統(Soundscape system) ,用嶄新科技描繪當年九龍車站的聲與景,並以傳統手工加上現代設計扎作巨型花牌誌慶。

 

《爛大鼓》漫畫

《爛大鼓》是一段由瞽師杜煥以「板眼」曲式演繹,述說老客人「爛大鼓」以第一身講唱自己找尋妓女瑞彩姑娘的故事,是榮鴻曾教授於1975年珍傳杜煥錄音之一。這裡展出的前傳漫畫由胡恩威監督,黎達達榮執筆創作,利用主角帶大家遊歷一遍爛大鼓身處的時空。創作過程參考不少歷史圖片中廣州的面貌,嘗試把三十年代真實的羊城街道、珠江河岸和花艇等風光呈現於讀者眼前。

 

下載【擴增實境AR】流動應用程式

iOS App Store 請按此

Android Google Play Store 請按此

 

劇場建築專題講座
快建築:從幼稚園到木偶劇場

原定於11月23日(六)舉行的高橋一平主講「劇場建築專題講座 – 快建築:從幼稚園到木偶劇場」因講者未能出席,活動將會取消不便之處,敬希見諒。

 

對比於傳統演出場地需要大量資金及時間興建,尋找新式表演場地或許更附合未來發展趨勢。呼應第六屆「建築是藝術節─美空間」,專題講座請來日本建築師高橋一平 (Takahashi Ippei),從他為日本核災地區重建幼稚園的得獎作品,以及一個發展中的「木偶劇場」設計作為引子,探討如何融合創新意念、當代與傳統技術創建「快建築」。日語進行,粵語翻譯。

 

高橋一平
高橋2010年成立「高橋一平建築事務所」後完成了多個成功項目:2013年獲設計計劃獎的七濱町立遠山保育園 (日本東北)、「Casa O」(東京,2014)、「S市街區計劃」(2011-2016)、「橫濱國立大學校園重組」(2012至今)、「東京公寓單位」(2018)。近年獲「笛吹公園」(山梨縣,2018-2020) 設計計劃獎,現活躍於多個建築項目,亦為橫濱國立大學助理教授。

 

專業應用系列

「專業應用系列」為舞台專業技術從業員及專科生而設,開放「進念舞台創新實驗室」的技術試驗,由技術伙伴的專家和設計團隊主持,在實驗室的「實景」裝置中,深入講解包括:數碼燈光(digital lighting)、聲音景觀系統 (soundscape)、多媒體伺服系統 (server base)及混合實境 (mixed reality) 的設計及應用。

 

12-13 /11 全日 燈光編程工作坊
14-15/11 全日 進階燈光編程工作坊*

講者:Declan Randall (ETC Training Program Coordinator)

20-21/11 全日 Disguise伺服系統操作工作坊

講者:Yip Tik Cheung

22/11 10am-1pm 聲音景觀系統工作坊 #1

講者:陳志偉(d&b audiotechnik Greater China 教育及應用支援部總監)

22/11 2-5pm 聲音景觀系統工作坊 #2

講者:田家麟(d&b audiotechnik Greater China 業務發展經理)

22/11 3-5pm 劇場未來:伺服系統
23/11 2pm-4pm AR/VR/MR的現在與未來

講者:Frankie Pang (Cordex Intelligence 總監)

*需具專業操作經驗。

全日 10am-1pm; 2-5pm

創作團隊

Z Innovation Lab 進念舞台創新實驗室

總策畫、藝術總監及空間設計 胡恩威

 

HKCC-AR 文化中心時間旅程

概念及視覺設計總監 胡恩威

〈爛大鼓〉漫畫創作 黎達達榮

聲音創作 許敖山

(錄音取自杜煥演唱〈兩老契嗌交〉,又名〈爛大鼓〉)

擴增實境 彭文達

音響顧問 夏恩蓓

製作監督 周俊彥、鄭慧瑩

購票

舞台與技術工作坊

Month-07

9

12nn, 4:30pm

香港文化中心劇場

專業應用系列

Month-07

11-14, 18-21

香港文化中心劇場

劇場建築專題講座 – 快建築:從幼稚園到木偶劇場

Month-07

23

4-6pm

香港文化中心劇場

讓藝術家、導演、編舞者等等多認識這些科技,刺激他們創作的可能性。

藝頻

學術合作機構

IVE_lock-up_4c (1)

技術伙伴

CEST Logo
Mad_music_logo[1] [Converted]
logo_protec
logo
logo_power